• Uncle Jeff Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Youth Ministry Team Meeting

Hey y’all-

  I want to thank you (again) for your service to the youth ministry at Living Hope. I hope we can use this blog/forum to communicate and work through some pressing issues….and just to talk to one another from a bit of a distance.

  Yesterday’s meeting was initially focused on three spiritual disciplines – prayer, fasting, and Bible study.

  Prayer – Paul writes to the Thessalonians, “For what thanksgiving can we return to God for you, for all the joy that we feel for your sake before our God, as we pray most earnestly night and day that we may see you face to face and supply what is lacking in your faith?
    Now may our God and Father himself, and our Lord Jesus, direct our way to you, and may the Lord make you increase and abound in love for one another and for all, as we do for you, so that he may establish your hearts blameless in holiness before our God and Father, at the coming of our Lord Jesus with all his saints” (1 Thessalonians 3:9-13).

  I am asking all of us to pray earnestly for the youth that the Lord has entrusted to us. And, to “increase and abound in love for one another and for all” as we seek to minister to these kids and their families. Prayer is the foundation of this ministry….

  Fasting – I have been challenged and convicted by my lack of fasting. So, I confess that lack of spiritual discipline to you and ask you to keep me accountable. Ask me about fasting. Ask me if I am fasting and praying for the youth ministry. And, I want you to join me….I’m not setting up any fasts (yet), but I am asking you to consider the command of Jesus to fast.

  Jesus said, “When you fast…” (Matthew 6:17). He didn’t say “if.” And, if you are a faster, please teach me….I want to learn!

Bible Study – As Christians, we should always be in God’s Word. As leaders in the Youth Ministry, it is imperative that we get in God’s Word. Why?

  So we can accurately represent God’s heart and teach God’s Word to the kids. So, please, get in the Word. If you need help, reach out to me or someone who you know is seeking God daily in His Word….we can help you. And, by helping someone else, we are held accountable and we learn more…

  So, please consider these spiritual disciplines and ask me if you need any help. Also, if you would like more information on spiritual disciplines, I would recommend Donald Whitney’s book Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life.

  This book would make an excellent addition to your personal library. It is an excellent primer on spiritual discipline. If you would like to borrow a copy, Rachel and I have one…

  So, this post is a warm-up….thanks for your service.

  Pray for a brother.

  Word.

  Jeff

4 Responses

  1. I am interested in reading that book:)

  2. I was challenged by the discussion on fasting. I have fasted several times when I had very pressing decisions to make, but I have never made it a priority in my walk. I love to be in the Word, so that comes fairly easily to me. Fasting does not. Thank you for the challenge and for sharing what you observed at City Impact. I’m very interested in the book, “As You Go,” because I know that is what is missing in today’s culture in general. We look at women mentoring other women, but we don’t live in a culture where that comes quite as naturally as it did long ago. Women were in each other’s homes regularly, working alongside one another, as were the daughters. The sons were working alongside the dads and other men. That makes it much more natural to teach “as you go.” That doesn’t mean we are excused, of course. We know we need to focus on the spiritual disciplines discussed in the meeting. That’s what we KNOW. All the other things are METHODS to do incorporate that into youth. We will all have varying opinions on the methods. Nothing wrong with that. You’ve said all along, Jeff, that your goal is to love the kids and teach them the Word. The end. I am going to pray more specifically now that I will learn how to lead as I go. In Edinburg, that was easy! The youth were amazing. Truly. I’ve heard you all say the same thing about Mission Arlington. Those weren’t times set aside to teach them how to do one particular thing. We could lead the youth in whatever we were doing. No one complained in Edinburg. Sometimes they noticed something needed to be done, but often we would just ask, “Could someone take the trash out? Could someone put in the new bag? Can y’all help put the chairs on the table?” They always jumped up to help with no need to get onto them or give a talk on serving. They learned in the moment and did very well. No matter what we are doing, we can guide them along. Every single student is in a very individual place spiritually, emotionally, physically, and experientially. I want to remember to love individually, just as God does, and lead as I go. Many, many students who seem to be leaders while in youth go on to later admit they were never believers. I personally know of quite a few from LH, much less other churches. I am a mom who was caught up in raising “good children,” not realizing I wasn’t focusing on “godly children,” until coming to LH and being led by solid teaching on the Word. Loving the kids, teaching them the Word. I am going to keep repeating that to myself. If they leave LH having come to a saving relationship with the Lord, the rest of it will come – leadership, serving heart, thinking missionally, not being in cliques.

    Melodi

    • Thanks, Melodi! I appreciate your honesty…and your heart! For the Lord and for the kids.
      Blessings,
      Jeff

Leave a Reply

