Moving from Tennessee to Ohio

Hey y’all-

My folks are moving this weekend. We’ve been in Crossville, Tennessee for many moons. I started here in 4th-grade and my folks have been here ever since. It’s home. Always will be, but I won’t have a place to go to after this weekend…..well, you know what I mean….

My Dad moved to Crossville because of K-Mart. Really. He got a job and they offered him a chance to open a new store in Crossville. So, we loaded up like the Beverly Hillbillies and moved from Knoxville to City Lake Road.

Whar we movin' to, Paw?

After we got here, we seemed to bounce around a bit until we eventually landed on a prime piece of real estate (complete with a mortgage) in Pleasant Hill. Victor Lane was the site of our greatest accomplishments as a family dynasty in Cumberland County.

The house was beautiful.

I used to take dates to the Jungle Room for a game we called "Safari."

We were all stars in our own right: basketball, cheerleading, academics, rolling yards, two-stepping, lifeguarding, beauty pageants, softball….you get the drift….an era came and went on Victor Lane.

Now, Mom and Dad are loading up the U-Haul and pointing the slightly damaged bumper (Dad had an “issue” in the rental-place parking lot) north. We’re heading up to Ohio. What does that mean for Cumberland County and Tennessee? Well, y’all can get back to normal ’cause we on up outta heah!

Well, just thought I would post this morning and my coffee is wearing off, so I better go.

Crossville. Love you, mean it, and I’ll be back! Word.

Uncle Jeff

4 Responses

  1. Aaaand another piece of my childhood…gone. Poof!

    Dang it.

    Ohio…you’re just gonna have to get used to me and my gang so…get ready. I put the “oo” in “groove” and make beautiful kids…what’s YOUR superpower Buckeye People?

  2. Jeff, you have a lifetime of reasons to be attached to Crossville. Certainly more reasons than I could ever have. But, I do love the Crossville area…it’s a neat place to visit. Some of my favorite times were spent in Crossville. Golfing with Uncle Bill, your dad and your Grandpa – and just visiting.
    As long as I’m able I will continue to try and visit Crossville once a year to celebrate some the great memories of my life – and hopefully try and make new ones. Hope we can meet there some day and continue making memories…Ken

  3. the man of many words has left so many out of this story!!! The lifetime of fun. What about your juvenile delinquent years on fourth street? What was the name of that store you stole candy from? What about the year of fun we had on City Lake Road? What about the fun plays at the Cumberland County Playhouse? What about the scar on your chin…who was doubling you on a pink bike when her feet flew into the spokes and we, I mean it flipped? What about all the wonderful neighbors we’ve had or the free haircuts by Jerri Sue? What about all the “awesome” prom dates we had? How about the prom that I went to with one of your friends, we got to hang out all nite together…thanks Jay. What about the softball games at City Park? What about the fair? oh those walking tacos! not to mention the funnel cakes. What about the FLEA MARKET with pappaw? What about the sledding hill with Coopers, Buckners big red sign. That was a winter we’ll never forget. So many memories, speaking of memories…what about the end of the year play that I sang “Memories” and I sang the same verse three times!!! I can still picture Miss Threet doing the “CUT” sign across her throat. How about those Hornets, the Mighty, Mighty eagles and the J-E-T-S, Jets! The late night episodes of Mash after we would come home from evenings out on the weekends. AND last but not least, you posing in the hall mirror showing me your muscles!!!!
    What about all that?
    I’m going to miss Crossville…it’s a great place to be from,
    Jessica

    • Yeah, Jess. I left a lot of things out. Good memories…all of them. I’ll have to expound on those in the near future. Go Hornets!

Leave a Reply

