DWYL Lesson 9 – Day 1

Hey y’all-

  I’m back in Kentucky and taking a class at SBTS this week. Paul David Tripp will be teaching Biblical Counseling and I’m excited to hear what he has to say and learn all I can to help spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ through counseling the hurting. Should be a good week.

  Also, we are on Lesson 9 in the Don’t Waste Your Life: Study Guide which corresponds to Chapter 9 in Don’t Waste Your Life. There are only 10 lessons, so we wrap it up next week. Very exciting….

  Let’s get to it. Chapter 9 is about world missions (we all live in the world, so we should all be involved in world missions) and John Piper asks, “In the space below, describe your current involvement in world missions. This would include prayer, financial support, mission trips, and current plans for the future.”

  My Response: This chapter is close to my heart because I have a desire to serve as a foreign missionary (Lord willing) sometime in the future. Where? Not sure. When? Not sure. Right now, my focus is my ministry at Bedford Baptist Church and loving these kids enough to tell them about Jesus and His love and holding them to the highest standard possible….God’s holiness. It’s where I am and where I want to be, but missions is always on my mind and in my heart…..

  This morning, I was in the gym at SBTS trying to work-out (I’m lame…and so are my workouts) when a friend from school walked in. He and his wife are leaving in nine days to serve as career missionaries in a primarily Muslim country that is closed to evangelism and the Gospel. They will be gone for at least three years before coming back for a visit and then, Lord willing, they will return and continue with their ministry over there. This world mission stuff is very close to me.

  Now, my involvement is not very extensive. As a Southern Baptist, I give to the Lottie Moon Offering for Foreign Missions and support the missionaries through prayer. Also, I try to tell my kids about missions and the need for our involvement…not just money and prayer, but going. As a youth group, we are taking a trip to another part of Kentucky to help build an emergency shelter in a few weeks.

  Personally, I am going to Canada this summer to help with evangelism and church planting. How? I’m playing guitar and singing with The Long Run Players. We’re jamming gospel bluegrass for the glory of God. Should be a hoot.

  What do you think we should do for missions? Foreign and local?

  Uncle Jeff

3 Responses

  1. I just found your blog today after you mentioning in church yesterday. I just read this entry and had a couple questions:

    What are you studying at SBTS? A doctorate?

    About foreign missions: Why missions? How long have you been at BBC? Why BBC? I guess I am asking you your very same question through a lot of other questions: What do YOU want to do with missions? Do you have different ideas?

  2. Hey Robin-
    I am working toward a Masters of Divinity (M.Div.) degree at Southern in the Billy Graham School for Evangelism, Missions, and Church Growth.
    I would like to spend a few years overseas to work on language and culture acquisition. I hope to go somewhere in Central America to work on Spanish.
    I am at BBC because I met some folks from there through my pastor in Nashville. They were looking for a youth pastor and I was looking for somewhere to serve. I’ve been there for about 16 months or so.
    Then, after gaining language and culture experience, I hope to pastor in the US and use those skills to build bridges in multi-ethnic churches.
    Does any of that make sense?
    Uncle Jeff

  3. Wow, that sounds great. What led you to CA and multi-ethnic churches? that is just a really interesting study… a great one. I have studied Latin American history forever, well mostly (Latin American Women History) but I am also really interested in that area of the world. Do you have background in it or something?

Leave a Reply

